Browser
- Browser
- Navigation
- Working with Files and Folders
- Edit
- Create new Folder or File
- Move or Duplicate Files and Folders
- Copy Files and Folders to Different Server
- Rename a File or Folder
- Deleting Files and Folders
- Create a Symbolic Link
- Info Window
- Quick Look
- Open or Copy HTTP URL
- Share Files
- Open in Terminal
- Print Browser Folder Listing
- Folder Icon Badges
- Versions
- Activity
- Problems
- Preferences
- Hidden Preferences
Navigation
List and Outline View
macOSWindows
Select View → as List (⌘1) or View → as Outline (⌘2) for expandable folders. You can expand and collapse folders using the right and left arrow keys in the outline view.
Navigate into a folder with a double-click (⌘↓) or one level up by using the ▲ button next to the path-field (⌘↑).
You can expand and collapse folders using the right and left arrow keys in the outline view.
Navigate into a folder with a doubl-click (Ctrl+Down) or one level up by using the ▲ button next to the path-field (Ctrl+Up).
Tabs
macOS only
Enable tabs by default when choosing File → New Browser (⌘N) by selecting in System Preferences the checkbox Dock → Prefer tabs when opening documents: Always. New browser windows and the transfer window will then be displayed in a single window frame with a tab bar. You can merge windows with View → Show Tab Bar and Window → Merge all Windows
Spring-Loaded Folders
Spring-loaded folders are a feature that allows you to move a file or even another folder, into a folder deeply nested within several other folders using drag and drop. To enable, choose Preferences → Browser → Use spring-loaded folders when dragging files and adjust the delay for the folder to expand when hovering over with the mouse. Note that spring-loaded folders are only supported in the outline view.
Filter and Search
Use the search field (macOS ⌘/ Windows Ctrl+F) to display only files that match the search string in the browser. To search recursively, hit the return key (⏎). Only files matching the search or folders with containing files matching the pattern will be displayed in the browser.
Note
Search is case-insensitive and does look for matching sequences in the filename supporting glob patterns * and ?.
The following protocols have a server-side index that is used to give fast results without recursively descending into folders.
Tip
You can also search for files by Version where applicable.
Supported Wildcards
| Wildcard | Description | Example | Matches |
|---|---|---|---|
* |
matches any number of any characters including none | Te* | Test, Tee, or Termin |
? |
matches any single character | ?bc | Abc, abc, or lbc |
Sorting
You can sort the file listing by clicking the table column header. Choose View → Column to add more headers such as Kind to allow sorting by file type including folders appearing first in the list.
Local Disk File Browser
Choose your computer name from the protocol selection popup button in the New Connection window.
Alternatively, you can use drag and drop or Menu File → Upload (macOS ⌥↑ Windows Alt+Up). You can also copy (macOS ⌘C Windows Ctrl+C) files in your file browser and paste them into Cyberduck using Menu Edit → Paste (macOS ⌘V Windows Ctrl+V) afterward.
See other upload methods.
Working with Files and Folders
Edit
You can edit any file on the server using your preferred application. See Edit Files.
Create new Folder or File
Use File → New Folder… (macOS ⇧⌘N Windows Ctrl+Shift+N) or File → New File… (macOS ⌘F Windows Ctrl+Shift+F) to create a new folder or file on the server.
Move or Duplicate Files and Folders
You can move files in the browser as you would in the Finder.app/ Explorer using drag and drop. Use the ⌥ modifier key on macOS or the Ctrl key on Windows to duplicate files. If connected to the same server, you can also move files between different browser windows.
The following protocols allow duplicating files on the server without downloading and uploading but copying in place:
To move a file, use Edit → Cut (macOS ⌘X Windows Ctrl+X) followed by Edit → Paste (macOS ⌘V Windows Ctrl+V). To duplicate a file, use Edit → Copy (macOS ⌘C Windows Ctrl+C) followed by Edit → Paste (macOS ⌘V Windows Ctrl+V).
The following protocols support server-sided copying without intermediate downloads:
Copy Files and Folders to Different Server
You can copy files between arbitrary servers when connected to with two open browser windows. Drag files from one browser to the other to transfer files between servers.
Rename a File or Folder
Select the file in the browser and press the Return key. Type the new name and press Return again to exit the editing mode. You can also rename files by choosing File → Info (macOS ⌘I Windows Alt+Return) or press the Get Info toolbar button. Simply enter the new name in the very top field. The field must lose focus (e.g. by hitting Return or Tab) to commit the filename change.
Deleting Files and Folders
Some protocols support the trashing of files instead of permanently deleting them. This feature is enabled by default. It can be disabled using a hidden configuration option.
browser.delete.trash=false
This is supported for the following protocols:
Create a Symbolic Link
Choose File → New Symbolic Link… to create a symbolic link. This is supported on UNIX systems with a SFTP connection and some FTP with SITE SYMLINK extension.
Info Window
Select the file in the browser and choose File → Info (macOS ⌘I Windows Alt+Return) to display detailed attributes of a file in a tool window. It allows to change permissions, manage content distributions for cloud services, and settings specific to the Amazon S3 service.
Quick Look
macOS only
You can toggle Quick Look in a Cyberduck browser for any file using Space Bar. A preview is rendered depending on a Quick Look Plugin available on your system for the given file type. Many file types like different image formats can be previewed with the bundled plugins in OS X and HTML is even rendered in the Quick Look preview panel.
Open or Copy HTTP URL
See bookmark Web URL configuration for HTTP URLs. You can select multiple files to open/copy all URLs.
- Open Web URL: The Web URL can be found in the File → Open URL menu and as an optional toolbar item in the browser window. Use View → Customize Toolbar… to add the Open in Browser button to your default browser toolbar.
- Copy Web URL: The Web URL can be found in the Edit → Copy URl menu.
Share Files
Refer to Share.
Open in Terminal
Refer to Open in Terminal.
Print Browser Folder Listing
Use the File → Print option where you can open a PDF from the browser listing or print it.
Folder Icon Badges
Folder icons are badged for particular access permissions.
Folder with no permission to access.
Folder with read-only permissions. Uploading or editing files to this folder is not possible.
Drop Folder where you can only upload files to but are not allowed to view its content.
Versions
You can view all revisions of a file in the browser by choosing View → Show Hidden Files. Refer to Info Window → Versions.
Revert
To revert to a previous version and make it the current, choose File → Revert.
Activity
Use Window → Activity (macOS ⌘0 Windows Ctrl+0) to toggle the activity window. It lists the currently running background tasks at the top and all queued activities subsequently.
Problems
Special Characters Such as Umlaute
If characters aren’t displayed correctly in the browser, try to change the character encoding used. See View → Text Encoding or edit the bookmark Encoding setting. Try UTF-8 (the default), ISO-8859-1, and Windows-1252.
The Folder Size isn’t Displayed Correctly
This is not the size of its content but the size of the folder itself. Use File → Info (macOS ⌘I Windows Alt+Return) to calculate the size of all contained files recursively.
Preferences
General → Browser → Save Workspace
Restore browser sessions that were left open when the application was last closed.
Browser → Browser → Open new browser window on startup
Open new browser window after application launch.
Browser → General
Browser → General → Show Hidden Files
Display files in the browser that start with . and previous revisions (S3). Use View → Show Hidden Files to toggle the mode of a current browser window.
Browser → General → Double click opens file in external editor
Open files in a external editor by double-clicking
Browser → General → Return key selects folder or file to rename
Use ⏎ key to select a file or folder for renaming
Browser → General → Info window always shows current selection
Use only one Info window which updates with the selection change in the browser. If unchecked, open multiple Info windows to compare files.
Hidden Preferences
Adjust the Browser Font Size
A hidden configuration option.
browser.font.size=18
Duplicate Filename Format
A hidden configuration option. Define a different format using
browser.duplicate.format="{0} ({1}){2}"
where the plaseholders will be replaced with
- {0} with the base filename
- {1} with the timestampof the file
- {2} with the extension in the format
.extensionif present in the original filename.
Warning Before Renaming or Moving Files
A hidden configuration option. A confirmation is shown before renaming or moving files.
browser.move.confirm=true
Re-Enable File Listing Limit Prompt
A hidden configuration option can re-enable the file listing limit prompt after dismissing it with enabled Always checkbox.
macOSWindows
Open Terminal.app and execute the command
defaults delete ch.sudo.cyberduck browser.list.limit.directory
and the command
defaults delete ch.sudo.cyberduck browser.list.limit.container
Navigate to %AppData%\Cyberduck and search within the existing Cyberduck.exe_Url_<random characters> folders after the folder that is named after your currently used Cyberduck version. Open the file user.config that is located within that folder and delete the lines
<setting name="browser.list.limit.directory"
<setting name="browser.list.limit.container"
Back to top
