Provider Users

Onboard provider users

To ensure the secure administration of your client organizations, Bitwarden applies a three-step process for onboarding a new Provider member, Invite → Accept → Confirm.

Invite

To invite users to your Provider:

  1. Log in to Bitwarden and and open the Provider Portal using the product switcher:

Product switcher - Provider Portal 2. Open the Manage → Members view and select the + Invite member button:

Add a provider user 3. On the Invite member panel:

  • Enter the Email address where new users should receive their invites. You can add up to 20 members at a time by comma-separating email addresses.
  • Select the User type to be applied to this batch of users. User type will determine what access these users will have to the provider. Both user types will be able to fully administer any client organization.
  • Click Save to invite the designated users to join the Provider.

[!NOTE] Resend Provider Invitations Invitations expire after five days, at which point the user will need to be re-invited. Re-invite users in bulk by selecting each user and using the ⋮ option menu to Resend invitations:

Resend provider invitation

Accept

Invited users will receive an email from Bitwarden inviting them to join the Provider. Clicking the link in the email will open a Bitwarden invitations window. Log In with an existing Bitwarden account or Create Account to accept the invitation:

Email Invitation

Confirm

To confirm accepted invitations to your Provider:

  1. In the Provider Portal, navigate to the Manage→Members view.
  2. Select any Accepted users and use the ⋮ options menu to ✓ Confirm selected:

Confirm invited provider user 3. On the panel that appears, verify that the fingerprint phrases for new users match those they can find in their Settings → My accountscreen. Each fingerprint phrase is unique to its account, and ensures a final layer of oversight in securely adding users. If they match, select Confirm.

Deprovision users

To remove users from your Provider:

  1. In the Provider Portal, navigate to the Manage→Members view.
  2. Select the members you want to remove from the provider and use the ⋮ options menu to [close] Remove:

Remove provider users

Provider user types

[!NOTE] Managing distinct user types Managing a client organization's users? Organizations have a set of member roles and access controls that are distinct from Provider user types.

Bitwarden Provider users can be granted one of two user types to manage their access to the Provider. Both user types will be able to fully administer any client organization. Bitwarden strongly recommends that you provision a second user with a Provider admin role for failover purposes.

You can set user types when you invite provider users, or at any time from the Manage → Members screen in your Provider Portal. User types include:

Role Description
Service user Service users can access and manage all client organizations, including: - Create or delete collections - Assign users and user groups to collections - Assign users to user groups - Create or delete user groups - Invite and confirm new users - Manage enterprise policies - View event logs - Manage password reset - Add or remove seats from a client organization, as long as they're within the total seats available to the provider
Provider admin Provider admins manage all aspects of the provider and all client organizations. Provider admins can do all of the above, plus: - Create new client organizations - Invite and confirm new service users and provider admins - View provider event logs - Edit provider settings - Manage billing, subscription, and total seats available to the provider