Secrets
Secrets are sensitive key-value pairs that your organization needs securely stored and should never be exposed in plain code or transmitted over unencrypted channels, for example:
- API Keys
- Application Configurations
- Database Connection Strings
- Environment Variables
Secrets that your user account has access through assigned projects are listed in the primary Secrets Manager view as well as by selecting Secrets from the navigation:

Create a secret
To create a new secret:
- Use the New dropdown to select Secret:
2. On the New Secret window's top-most section, enter a Nameand Value. Adding Notesis optional.
3. Within Project, pick an existing project to associate with the secret or create a new project to that will include the secret. Each secret can only be associated with a single project at a time.
4. Optionally, use the People and Machine accounts tabs to grant people or machine accounts direct access to the secret.
5. When you're finished, select the Savebutton.
Add secrets to a project
Secrets may only be assigned to one project at a time. By adding a secret to a project:
- Organization members with access to the project will be able to see or manipulate this secret.
- Machine accounts with access to the project will be able to create a pathway for injecting and editing this secret.
To add your secrets to a project:
- Go to Secrets and select the secret to add.
- In the Edit Secret window, in the Projectsection, type or select the project to associate the secret with. Each secret can only be associated with a single project at a time.
- When you're finished, select the Savebutton.
Assign secrets to people or machine accounts
From the same window, you can grant secret access directly to people and machine accounts:
- Granting secret access directly to users will allow them to interact with it from the Secrets view.
- Granting secret access directly to machine accounts will grant programmatic access to the secret using the machine account's access token(s).
Delete a secret
When you delete a secret, it moves to Trash for 30 days. After that time, it will be permanently deleted.
[!WARNING] Permanently deleted secret Once a secret is permanently deleted, it cannot be recovered.
To delete a secret:
- Go to Secrets.
- On the same line as the secret, select the ⋮ icon.
- Select Delete secret:

To undo a deletion or permanently delete a secret before 30 days:
- Go to Trash.
- On the same line as the secret, select the ⋮ icon.
- Select Restore secretor Permanently delete:
4. Select Delete secret to confirm.
