Vault Items

Item types

Bitwarden can securely store more than just usernames and passwords. There are five types of items you can store in your vault:

Add items

[!TIP] This's manual, but you can also import. This section will cover manually adding a vault item, but for many users Bitwarden recommends importing items directly into your vault from most password managers or web browsers.

You can add vault items from any Bitwarden app:

Web app

Select the + New button and choose the item type to create:

Add an item Add an item

Browser extension

Select the + New button and choose the item type to create:

Add an item Add an item

Mobile

Select the + New button and choose the item type to create:

Add an item Add an item

Desktop

Add an item Add an item

CLI

Use the create command to add a new item. Refer to the CLI documentation for more information.

Copy item credentials

To copy an item's details:

Web app

Hover over an item and select the [clone] Copy icon that appears next to an item. A menu will then appear where you select Copy username or Copy password:

Copy in web app Copy in web app

You can also go to Settings → Appearance and check Show quick copy actions in vault. When you then hover over an item, icons will appear to specifically copy your username, password, or verification code to the clipboard:

Quick copy in web app Quick copy in web app

Browser extension

Several autofill methods are available in the Bitwarden browser extension, including a copy button.

Copy button browser Copy button browser

You can also go to ⚙️ Settings→ Appearance and check Show quick copy actions in vault. When you then hover over an item, icons will appear to specifically copy your username, password, or verification code to the clipboard:

Quick copy browser Quick copy browser

Mobile

You can autofill your items using the iOS app and the Android app.

Desktop

Open an item and select the [clone] Copy icon next to a field:

Copy credential on desktop Copy credential on desktop

You can also go to Settings → App settings and check Show quick copy actions in vault. When you then hover over an item, icons will appear to specifically copy your username, password, or verification code to the clipboard:

Quick copy desktop app Quick copy desktop app

<u></u>

CLI

Use the get command to retrieve an object, like a username or password. Refer to the CLI documentation for more information.

Manage items

You can manage your vault items from any Bitwarden app:

Edit

To edit an item:

Web app

Select the ⋮ options menu for the item you want to edit:

[!TIP] You can right-click on the web app. You can also right-click the item to call up the same menu.

Edit or delete an item Edit or delete an item

Browser extension

Select an item to open it and select Edit:

Edit or delete an item Edit or delete an item

Mobile

Select the ⋮ options menu for the item you want to edit and select Edit:

Edit an item Edit an item

Desktop

Select an item to open it and select the [pencil] Edit icon:

Edit an item Edit an item

CLI

Use the edit command to add a new item. Refer to the CLI documentation for more information.

Archive

Archiving is a useful tool for decluttering your vault. Archived items are excluded from search results and autofill suggestions, but included in exports. Archiving:

  • Is available for all paid plans, including premium users and members of paid organizations. If that subscription ever lapses, users will not lose access to archived items.
  • Is available for organization items and individually-owned items. Like favorites, one user's choice to archive an item will not archive that item for any other users who have access to it.
  • Does not remove items from reporting or exports.

To archive an item:

Web app

  1. Select the item(s) you want to archive and use the action bar to choose Archive:

Archive with the web app Archive with the web app 2. Confirm your choice by selecting Archive in the dialogue.

Unarchive

On the web app, select Archive from your vault filters, select the item(s) to restore, and choose Unarchive from the action bar.

Browser extension

  1. Use the ⋮ options menu for the item you want to archive and choose Archive.

Archive with the browser extension Archive with the browser extension 2. Confirm your choice by selecting Archive in the dialogue.

Unarchive

On browser extensions, navigate to Settings → Vault options → Archive to view your archived items and use the ⋮ options menu to choose Unarchiveto restore an item to normal vault behavior.

Mobile

Use the ⋯ options menu for the item you want to archive and choose Archive:

Archive with the mobile app Archive with the mobile app

Unarchive

On mobile apps, select Archive from your vault filters in order to view your archived items and use the ⋯ options menu to choose Unarchiveto restore an item to normal vault behavior.

Desktop

  1. Select the items you wish to archive, then slect Archive on the action bar:

Archive with the desktop app Archive with the desktop app 2. Confirm your choice by selecting Archive in the dialogue.

Unarchive

On the desktop app, select Archive from your vault filters, select the item(s) to restore, and choose Unarchive from the action bar.

CLI

To archive an item, use the command bw archive item <item-id> where <item-id> represents the unique identifier of the item you want to archive.

To view items in your archive, use the command bw list --archive.

Delete

To delete an item:

Web app

Select the ⋮ options menu for the item and select 🗑️ Delete:

Item options Item options

Delete multiple items using the action bar:

Delete multiple items Delete multiple items

Browser extension

Select an item to open it and select the 🗑️ Delete icon:

Edit or delete an item Edit or delete an item

Mobile

Tap an item to open it and select the ⋮ options menu for the item:

Item options Item options

Desktop

Select an item to open it and select the 🗑️ Delete icon:

Delete an item Delete an item

Delete multiple items using the action bar:

Delete multiple items on desktop Delete multiple items on desktop

CLI

Use the delete command to add a new item. Refer to the CLI documentation for more information.

Vault trash

Deleted items are sent to the trash, where they remain for 30 days after deletion. Once 30 days have elapsed, the item will be permanently deleted and not recoverable. In the trash, you can Restore an item to your vault or Permanently delete it prior to the 30-day waiting period using the ⋮ menu:

Web app

Select Trashfrom the Filters menu:

Trash in the web app

Browser extension

Navigate to Settings → Vault → Trash:

Trash in browser extensions

Mobile

On the Vaults tab, scroll down to Trash and select the item:

Trash in mobile apps

Desktop

Select Trashfrom the navigation:

Trash in the desktop app Trash in the desktop app

Clone

You can clone any item that you have ownership of to create a duplicate item. If an item is owned by an organization, it can only be cloned by members with Can manage access to the item's collection and can only be done from the web app:

Web app

Select the ⋮ options menu for the item you want to duplicate and select [clone] Clone:

Item options Item options

Browser extension

Select the ⋮ options menu for the item you want to duplicate and select [clone] Clone:

Item options Item options

Mobile

Tap an item to open it and select the ⋮ options menu for the item:

Item options Item options

Desktop

Select the ⋮ options menu for the item you want to duplicate and select [clone] Clone:

Clone an item Clone an item

[!NOTE] Passkeys not cloned Passkeys are not copied when an item is cloned. The new item will include the same details as the original one, except the passkey field will be empty.

Share items

If you're a member of an organization, you can assign vault items to your organization's collections, transferring ownership of the vault item to the organization. To share with other organization members, use the action bar:

Assign to collections Assign to collections

Next steps

Now that you understand the basics of working with vault items, we recommend: