How to close a portfolio account
Estimated 2 minute read
|
Updated Jul 7, 2025, 12:00 AM EST
Table of contents
You must be the Portfolio Owner to close a portfolio.
You will learn
Learn how to close a portfolio account in Klaviyo, which permanently deletes the portfolio and its metrics. Closing a portfolio unlinks all accounts, but has no other impact on any linked account.
This article only includes instructions for portfolios. For information about closing a regular account, see how to cancel, close, or downgrade an account to free.
Close a portfolio
Closing a portfolio deletes it and any data in that portfolio.
Once deleted, you cannot recover the portfolio. Instead, you must recreate it by manually linking each account again and re-establishing the metrics.
- In the portfolio you want to close, click the account name in the bottom left.
- Select Settings > Portfolio.


- Scroll down to the Close portfolio section.
- Select the Close portfolio button.


- Choose a category for why you’re closing the portfolio, then select an option from its Reason dropdown:
- Consolidating portfolios
- We are consolidating portfolios
- Issue with portfolio
- Portfolio is difficult to use.
- Portfolio doesn't have the features or functionality I want.
- Portfolio has issues or bugs.
- Other
- Testing out portfolio
- No longer needed


- Optional: tell us more about why you're closing, so Klaviyo can make improvements.
- Select Continue in the upper right.
- Save any billing data and reports you want to keep before continuing:
- Billing: select Export CSV under Export billing to download a billing overview of your linked accounts.
- Reports: open Home in a separate tab and follow these steps. For more detail, see exporting portfolio reports.
- Select the portfolio metric, date range, and accounts you want to include.
- In Performance breakdown, select Export CSV, then Accounts performance overview or All campaigns and flows by account. The overview downloads automatically.
- For All campaigns and flows by account, select Recent downloads in Performance breakdown, then Download when the report is ready. Save the file before closing the portfolio.


- Return to the closure screen and select Continue in the upper right.
- Confirm the name of the portfolio (it is not case sensitive).


- When you are ready to finish deleting this portfolio, select Close portfolio.
- This action deletes all of the portfolio’s data.
After closing the portfolio, select Exit Klaviyo to log out, or wait for the 60-second countdown to finish. Sign back in to access another account.
Additional resources
Learn about portfolios in Klaviyo, including what they are, who should use them, and how to set them up. - How to change the Owner of a portfolio
Learn how to change the Owner of the portfolio to another user. - How to downgrade to free, cancel a plan, or close your Klaviyo account
Learn how to downgrade your plans to free, cancel a single plan (e.g., email and profiles, SMS, or Reviews) or your account, as well as how to close your Klaviyo account.
Was this article helpful?
YesNo
Use this form only for article feedback. Learn how to contact support.
Explore more from Klaviyo
Community
Connect with peers, partners, and Klaviyo experts to find inspiration, share insights, and get answers to all of your questions.
Partners
Hire a Klaviyo-certified expert to help you with a specific task, or for ongoing marketing management.
Support
Access support through your account.
Email support (free trial and paid accounts) Available 24/7
Chat/virtual assistance Availability varies by location and plan type
