Delete a Group
Copied
Delete group names or categories you no longer need to organize your contacts. This action removes the group option from your audience and its related Mailchimp-hosted signup forms.
In this article, you'll learn how to delete a group name or group category from your audience.
Before you start
Here are some things to know before you begin this process.
- Audience actions are permanent and cannot be undone.
- Familiarize yourself with how group names and categories work in Mailchimp. To learn more, check out Getting Started with Groups.
- Contacts remain in your audience when you delete a group name or category. To remove contacts, you must archive or delete them.
- Remove the group as a recipient from any draft or ongoing campaigns before deletion.
- Deleting a group changes the bit number for all subsequent groups.
- Refresh your embedded form code after you delete a group.
Delete group name
To delete a single option (group name) from a complete group (group category), follow these steps.
- Click Audience.
- If you have more than 1 audience, click the Audience drop-down and choose the one you want to work with.
- Click the More options drop-down, then choose Groups.
- Locate the group category you want to update, then click View group.
- Click the Actions drop-down for the group option you want to remove, then choose Delete.
- In the Are you sure? modal, type DELETE in the field provided to confirm the permanent deletion, then click Delete.
Delete group category
To delete a complete group (group category) along with its options (group names), follow these steps.
- Click Audience.
- If you have more than 1 audience, click the Audience drop-down and choose the one you want to work with.
- Click the More options drop-down, then choose Groups.
- Click the View group drop-down for the group category you want to remove, then choose Delete.
- In the Are you sure? modal, type DELETE in the field provided to confirm the permanent deletion, then click Delete.
Related
Delete an Audience
It's possible to delete a Mailchimp audience, but we don't always recommend it. Learn more about permanently deleting an audience from your account.
