Add and reuse images with the Asset library
- Add and reuse images with the Asset library
- Store and search for assets you’ve uploaded or licensed across your site.
- Add content to the Asset library
- Add content from the Asset library to your site
- Review or rename content in your Asset library
- Delete content from the Asset library
- Download content from the Asset library
- Why does my Asset library have multiple versions of the same image or video?
- Can I move content from one site’s Asset library to another?
- What happens to the content on my site when I delete an asset from the Asset library?
- Why are URLs for deleted Asset library content still appearing in search engine results?
false
Add and reuse images with the Asset library
Last updated August 19, 2026 18:41
Store and search for assets you’ve uploaded or licensed across your site.
Your site’s Asset library stores all the image and video files you’ve uploaded to your site, and free and licensed stock images and videos you’ve added through our integrations.
When you upload images or videos in other areas of your site, they’re automatically saved in the Asset library so you can reuse them whenever you want.
Also try: Organizing your Asset library images and videos with folders.
Add content to the Asset library
You can add images or video directly from your computer or mobile device to the Asset library for use across your site. Your options vary depending on your device.
To add images and videos from your computer:
- Open the Assets panel.
- Click Upload in the top-right corner, then select one or more image or video files to upload. You can also drag and drop files from your computer into the Asset library.
- Track the progress of the upload in the bottom-right corner. After the upload is complete, a green checkmark appears next to the number of files uploaded.
You can upload images from your mobile device directly to the Asset library in the Squarespace app, then use these uploaded images when you’re logged into your site on a computer. It's not possible to upload videos to the Asset library using the Squarespace app.
To add images to your Asset library in the Squarespace app:
- In the Home tab, tap +, then tap Upload assets to library.
- Tap all images you want to import, then tap Import.
- After the import is complete, tap I'm done, or tap Add more to import more images.
- When you're done, you'll return to the Home tab.
Add content from the Asset library to your site
To add images or video from the Asset library to content on your site:
- Open the editor for where you want to add an image or video and click Add an image or Add a video. The text may vary depending on where you’re adding the content.
- Click Select from library or Search images.
- In the My Library tab, you can find any image or video you’ve previously uploaded to your Asset library or elsewhere on your site, and any stock images or video you’ve used.
- Click the image or video you want to add, then click Add. Depending on where you’re adding content, you may be able to select and add multiple images.
Where can I add images from my Asset library
You can add images from your Asset library anywhere you can add images on your site, including:
- Email Campaigns
- Featured images
- Image blocks
- Gallery sections
- Gallery blocks
- Mobile fallback images for background videos
- Page section backgrounds
- Product images
- Site logos
Where can I add videos from my Asset library
You can add previously uploaded videos from your Asset library to:
Review or rename content in your Asset library
You can review file details for each image and video in your Asset library, including Filename, Type, Dimensions, Duration, Size, and Added date. You can also change the filename, which updates the filename in your Asset library and wherever the asset has been added to your site.
To review details for a file or rename a file:
- Open the Assets panel.
- Hover over the image or video.
- Click …, then click File Details. Details include Filename, Type, Dimensions, Duration, Size, and Added date. If it’s a video, you can preview it here.
- Optional: To change the filename, click Rename, enter the new filename, then click Save. When changing a filename, keep in mind it will act as alt text in most areas of your site.
Delete content from the Asset library
To delete content from the Asset library:
- Open the Assets panel and find your image, video, or folder.
- Check the box for each image, video, or folder you'd like to delete. Deleting a folder deletes all of its content too.
- Click the trash can icon, then click Delete to confirm the deletion of your content. This moves it to the trash and automatically removes it from wherever it appeared on your site.
Restore a deleted asset or folder
After you delete an image, video, or folder, you can restore it within 30 days. If more than 30 days have passed, or if you’ve emptied the trash, the content can’t be restored.
To restore images, videos, and folders:
- Open the Assets panel.
- Click Trash.
- Select the item to restore by checking the box next to the image, video, or folder. You can select multiple assets at a time.
- Click Restore. Restored items go back to their original locations. When you restore a folder, all of its contents are also restored. If you deleted an item that was still in use on your site, restoring it in the Asset library restores it on your site content too.
Why can't I restore a video?
Videos in your trash don’t count toward your video storage limit. If restoring a video will exceed your video storage limit, you’ll get a pop-up window saying you don't have enough storage space. Increase your storage, or delete other videos to free up space.
Empty asset library trash
To delete assets in the trash before 30 days have passed:
- Open the Assets panel.
- Click Trash.
- Click Empty Trash.
- Click Empty Trash in the confirmation message that appears. After you empty the trash, the content can’t be restored and this action can't be undone.
Download content from the Asset library
You can download individual images, one at a time, from the Assets library. It's not possible to download all images from your site in bulk, and we recommend keeping all image files on your computer after uploading them to reduce the risk of losing the original files.
Note: It's not possible to download your uploaded videos. Ensure you keep a backup of any video files you upload.
To download an image:
- Open the Assets panel.
- Hover over the image you want to download, click the three dots, then click File Details.
- After the image preview loads, right-click the image and save it to your device.
Download and reuse Unsplash images
You can download, copy, modify, and distribute Unsplash images for free. When you download Unsplash images, you can reuse them across multiple sites by uploading and downloading them the same way you do with images you own.
License Getty Images for use outside Squarespace
Getty Image purchases through Squarespace are only licensed for use on your site. You can license more sizes and resolutions for print, social media, or commercials.
To purchase more licenses:
- Open the Assets panel.
- Hover over the image and click the three dots.
- Click File Details.
- Click the link to view licensing options.
Why does my Asset library have multiple versions of the same image or video?
If you upload the same image or video to your site multiple times, multiple versions will appear. To avoid confusion, delete the duplicates.
If the versions in your library are slightly different, it could be because you used the image editor on the original. When you edit an image, the edited version appears as a copy in your Asset library.
Can I move content from one site’s Asset library to another?
No. Images and videos, including stock images you've purchased, only appear in the Asset library on the site where you added them. It’s not possible to move images between Squarespace sites.
What happens to the content on my site when I delete an asset from the Asset library?
Deleting an image or video from your Asset library automatically removes it from wherever it appeared on your site. A broken file icon or a blank space may display in its place. To remove the icon or blank space, delete the content from your site.
If an image or video still displays on your site after deleting it in the Asset library, empty the Asset library's trash.
Why are URLs for deleted Asset library content still appearing in search engine results?
If search engines previously indexed your site’s content, they may display your content's static URL in search results for a period of time.
With some search engines, like Google, you can request they re-index your site to remove deleted content from search results. Timing for this is outside of Squarespace’s control.
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
244 out of 727 found this helpful
Yes No
Add and reuse images with the Asset library
