Renaming a Google Workspace user
false
Renaming a Google Workspace user
Last updated May 28, 2026 21:12
Changing a username in the Google Workspace panel.
You can change Google Workspace usernames in the Google Workspace panel at no additional charge. A username appears before the @ symbol in an email address, and is used to log into Google Workspace. For example, you might want to rename a user from info@yourdomain.com to contact@yourdomain.com or make a minor change due to a typo at signup.
After renaming a user, Google Workspace retains the old username as an email alias to ensure continuous mail delivery.
Note: If you created a Google Workspace account through Google Domains, now that your domain has migrated to Squarespace, you'll manage users in your domain's Google Workspace panel on Squarespace (not your Google Admin console).
Tip: If you entered the wrong username when signing up (for example, if you made a typo or spelling mistake), follow the steps in this guide to rename the user. Don’t cancel your entire Google Workspace account.
Username vs. display name
A username appears before the @ symbol in an email address. The display name appears in Gmail, Google Calendar, and other Google services, often as a first and last name.
For example, if you have the email address susie.squarespace@yourdomain.com, the username is susie.squarespace and the display name would likely be Susie Squarespace. To change susie.squarespace, follow this guide. To change Susie Squarespace, change it in your Google Workspace Admin Dashboard.
Note: To rename a user in Google Workspace, you must be a Google Workspace Administrator.
Change a username
To change a Google Workspace username:
- Open the domains dashboard, then click the domain linked to the Google Workspace account you'd like to manage.
- Click Email.
- Click Manage plan.
- Click ... beside the user you want to rename, then click Edit User.
- In the Username field, enter the new username for the email address. This will appear before the @ symbol in their email address.
- Click Save.If you see an error message, review the common causes and how to resolve them.
This change may take up to 24 hours to process and reflect throughout Google Workspace.
To learn more about what happens after you rename a user, visit Google’s documentation.
Troubleshooting
I want to add or change my Google Workspace user's profile photo
You can only add or change Google Workspace user profile photos from the Google Admin Console. Learn more in Google's Help Center.
I want to revert to my old username
Google Workspace retains the old username as an email alias. The error message, “A user already exists with this email” may be generated when trying to revert to your old username. To re-use the old username, you first need to delete the email alias.
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
151 out of 553 found this helpful
Yes No
Renaming a Google Workspace user
