Deleting a Google Workspace user

false

Deleting a Google Workspace user

Last updated March 23, 2026 14:13

Remove an email address from your Google Workspace account.

To keep your Google Workspace (previously G Suite) account active but cancel a specific email address (also known as a “user”), you can delete it directly from your Squarespace site. For example, you might want to remove a user if someone leaves your organization.

Note: If you created a Google Workspace account through Google Domains, now that your domain has migrated to Squarespace, you'll manage users in your domain's Google Workspace panel on Squarespace (not your Google Admin console).

Other ways to remove Google Workspace email addresses

Note: It's not possible to remove users if you have a suspended Google Workspace account. To remove users, reactivate your account, then you can delete any users.

Refund policy

Per our refund policy, we only issue refunds for annual Google Workspace subscriptions canceled in the 15-day renewal window.

Note: On an annual plan, it’s not possible to receive a refund for any unfilled seats in your Google Workspace account outside of the renewal window. The cost of the unfilled seat is removed from your next renewal payment if the seat remains unfilled during the following billing cycle.

Delete a user

To delete a Google Workspace user:

Note: This will permanently delete the user's inbox and every document it owns. Before deleting, you can transfer ownership of their documents from your Google Workspace account. To learn more, see “Before you delete a user's account” in Google's documentation.

  1. Open the domains dashboard, then click the domain linked to the Google Workspace account you'd like to manage.
  2. Click Email.
  3. Click Manage plan.
  4. Click ... beside the email address you want to delete, then click Delete.
  5. Click Delete in the pop-up to confirm.
  6. Repeat these steps for every email address you want to delete. Your next billing cycle will no longer show these subscriptions.

If you’re on an annual plan, you now have one available seat for each deleted user that you can fill with a new user.

Restore a recently deleted user

If you're on an annual plan, you can restore a user through your Admin Console up to 20 days after deleting them. Keep in mind, you can't restore a deleted user if:

  • You replaced their seat with another user during that period
  • You're on a monthly plan

Replace a user (Annual plan only)

If you’re on an annual plan and delete a user outside of the 15-day renewal window, you’ll have one available seat that you can fill with a new user at no additional charge. This ensures that you get the most value out of your annual subscription.

To replace a deleted user, follow the steps in Adding more Google Workspace users. If your account is eligible to fill an empty seat, a You have an unused seat message will display instead of a charge amount.

If you don't fill the empty seat of a deleted user, it will be removed on your next renewal date, and you'll only be charged for the remaining active users.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

70 out of 325 found this helpful

Yes No

Deleting a Google Workspace user