Removing another contributor from your site
false
Removing another contributor from your site
Last updated August 11, 2026 14:29
Prevent a former teammate from editing your site, or temporarily limit their access.
If a contributor doesn't need access to your site or if they leave your business, you might want to remove them. This blocks them from logging in and making any changes.
Tip: To remove yourself as a contributor, visit Removing yourself as a contributor.
Before you begin
- Only owners and administrators can remove other contributors.
- If you're an owner, transfer ownership to another contributor before removing yourself.
- Removing a contributor can't be undone, but you can invite the same email address to contribute to your site again.
- Contributors won’t be notified when you remove them from your site.
- Squarespace domains that don't share billing information with a website have different contributor settings than those in this guide. To learn more, visit Managing domain permissions.
Remove a contributor
When you remove a contributor, they lose all access to the site and their login is turned into a basic author with the name Guest User. This basic author will be the name displayed on all their authored content, like blog posts. You can update their author information or remove the basic author to reassign their authored content to another contributor.
Note: When you remove a Payments Manager, you’ll see a warning to transfer the role to another contributor so you don't lose access to your Squarespace Payments account. To confirm, click Remove. If you need more help after removing, contact us.
To remove a contributor:
- Computer
- Click the contributor's name.
- Click ..., then click Remove Contributor.
- Click Remove to confirm.
Note: The Squarespace app doesn't save contributors without permissions. The contributor is permanently removed after you confirm.
- Tap Settings, then tap Permissions.
- Tap the contributor profile.
- Tap Remove Access, then tap Confirm to remove all of their permissions.
Remove permissions (computer only)
If you don't want to remove a contributor entirely but need to remove their permissions temporarily, follow these steps:
- Open the Permissions & Ownership panel.
- Click the contributor's name.
- Click ..., then click Remove Permissions.
- Click Remove to confirm.
Any permissions the contributor had will now be removed. To give them permissions again, switch the toggles for each permission level on again.
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
67 out of 253 found this helpful
Yes No
Removing another contributor from your site
