Deleting pages or blog posts
false
Deleting pages or blog posts
Last updated March 06, 2026 18:53
Temporarily or permanently remove pages and blog posts from your site.
You can remove pages and blog posts from your site in a variety of ways, then delete them permanently.
Watch a video
Before you begin
Pages
- Deleted pages are kept in Deleted Pages in the Pages panel for 30 days. To learn more, visit Restoring deleted pages and blog posts.
- If you think you'll need the page later, you have other options besides deleting it. To keep it accessible to visitors but remove it from navigation menus, move it to the Not linked section. You can also disable the page to hide it from visitors without deleting it.
- Deleting a page removes all content on the page.
- Deleting a store page removes all the store's products from your inventory.
- Deleting a dropdown removes all pages within the dropdown.
- After deleting a page, you can create a URL redirect to prevent visitors from getting a “404 page not found” error when they visit its URL.
- To delete the homepage, first set a new homepage, then follow the steps in this guide.
Posts
- Deleted blog posts are kept in Deleted Posts for 30 days. To learn more, visit Restoring deleted pages and blog posts.
- If you think you'll need the post later, unpublish it temporarily instead by setting it back to a draft.
- After deleting a post, you can create a URL redirect to prevent visitors from getting a “404 page not found” error when they visit its URL.
Delete a page
Option 1 - Pages panel or tab
To delete a page in the pages panel or tab:
- Computer
-
Open the Pages panel.
-
Hover over the page you want to remove and click the trash canicon.
-
Click Confirm.
If your site is on version 7.1:
- Tap More, then tap Pages.
- Tap the title of the page you want to delete, then tap the trash can icon.
- Tap Confirm.
If your site is on version 7.0:
- Tap More, then tap Pages.
- Swipe left on the page you want to delete, then tap Delete.
Option 2 - Page settings
To delete a page in page settings:
- Computer
-
Open the Pages panel.
-
Hover over the page you want to remove and click
. -
Click Delete.
- Click Confirm.
If your site is on version 7.1:
- Tap More, then tap Pages.
- Tap the title of the page you want to delete, then tap
. - Tap General, tap Delete Page, then tap Delete.
If your site is on version 7.0:
- Tap More, then tap Pages.
- Tap the page you want to delete, then tap ... and tap Page Settings.
- Scroll to the bottom of page settings, tap Delete Page, then tap Confirm.
Delete a blog post
To delete a blog post:
- Version7.1
- Version 7.0
-
Open the Pages panel.
- Click the blog page containing the post you want to delete.
- Hover over the post in the side panel and click ..., then click Delete.
- Click Confirmin the message that appears.
Delete multiple posts
To delete multiple blog posts, press and hold Ctrl
(Command on a Mac) while clicking each blog post. Then
click Delete.
Tip:To remove a series of blog posts, click the first blog post, press and hold
Shift, click the last blog post, then click Delete.
- Open the Pages panel.
- Click the blog page containing the post you want to delete.
- Hover over the post and click Delete.
- Click Confirmin the message that appears.
Delete multiple posts
To delete multiple blog posts, press and hold Ctrl
(Command on a Mac) while clicking each blog post. Then
click Remove.
Tip:To remove a series of blog posts, click the first blog post, press and hold
Shift, click the last blog post, then click Remove.
If your site is on version 7.1:
- Tap More, then tap Pages.
- Tap the blog, then tap Blog Contentto open your list of posts.
- Tap the post you want to delete, tap ..., then tap Delete.
- Tap Deleteto confirm.
If your site is on version 7.0:
- Tap More, then tap Pages.
- Tap the blog.
- Swipe left on the title of the blog post you want to delete.
- Tap Delete, then tap OKto confirm.
Permanently delete pages or posts
When you delete a page or blog post, it's stored for 30 days before being permanently removed from your site. To permanently delete content before then, empty the trash can or recycle bin. After you empty a trash can or recycle bin, that content can't be restored.
To empty a trash can or recycle bin:
- Computer
-
After deleting a page or blog post, the Deleted Pages or Deleted Posts will appear at the bottom of its panel. Click to open it.
- Click Empty Trash or Empty Recycle Bin.
- Click Confirm or Empty in the confirmation message that appears. This action can't be undone.
Tip: Currently, it's not possible to empty the blog page recycle bin on the Squarespace app. Follow these steps to permanently delete pages from the Pages panel.
If your site is on version 7.1:
- Tap More, then tap Pages.
- Tap Trash.
- Tap Empty Trash, then tap Confirm.
If your site is on version 7.0:
- Tap More, then tap Pages.
- Tap Recycle Bin.
- Tap Delete All, then tap OK.
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
98 out of 444 found this helpful
Yes No
Deleting pages or blog posts
