Merging Squarespace accounts

false

Merging Squarespace accounts

Last updated May 12, 2025 17:11

If you created multiple Squarespace sites or registered multiple Squarespace domains, and used different email addresses or social accounts to sign up, you’ll have different Squarespace sites or domains associated with different accounts.

To merge accounts, follow this guide to manually move all your sites or domains under one account. There’s not currently a more direct way to merge accounts.

Tip: This guide covers how to streamline your own Squarespace accounts. To transfer ownership of a Squarespace site to someone else, visit Changing site ownership.

Choose your primary account

First, choose the account that’s using the email address or social account you want to use to log in. Merging accounts involves changing ownership, so it’s important to know which login you want to use.

Throughout this guide, we’ll refer to this as your “primary account.” We’ll refer to the account you don’t want to use as your “secondary account.”

If you’re not sure what email addresses you use to log in, visit Recovering your account email address.

Merge your accounts

Follow these steps to consolidate all your Squarespace sites under one account login:

  1. Log into your secondary account.
  2. Find all the sites and other subscriptions associated with this account in your account dashboard.
  3. On each, invite your primary account’s email address as a contributor.
  4. In a private or incognito browser, log into your primary account’s email address and accept those invitations.
  5. Return to the browser where you are logged in to the secondary account.
  6. Change ownership of the website and all of its attached subscriptions, like domains and Google Workspace, to your primary account.

Merge an account with unattached Squarespace domains

Follow these steps to consolidate all your Squarespace domains under one account login:

  1. Log into your secondary account.
  2. Find all domains associated with this account in your domains dashboard.
  3. On each domain, invite your primary account's email address as a domain manager.
  4. In a private or incognito browser, log into your primary account and accept those invitations.
  5. Return to the browser where you're logged into the secondary account.
  6. Change ownership of the domains to your primary account.
  7. If needed, update the contact information of your domains.

To learn more about updating the owner of a domain, visit Changing domain ownership.

Merge an account with connected Squarespace domains

If your secondary account has a Squarespace-managed domain connected to a Squarespace website in your primary account, you'll need to follow some additional steps to consolidate your subscriptions.

  1. Log into your primary account.
  2. Invite the secondary account as a contributor with administrator permissions to the website on your primary account.
  3. In a private or incognito browser, log into your secondary account and accept the invitation.
  4. While logged into your secondary account, move the domain to the website.

Merge two accounts when one owns a site and the other owns a domain

If you have one account that owns a site and another account for a parked domain, you can either transfer ownership of the domain to the site account or transfer ownership of the site to the parked domain account.

Note: If you need to move a resold domain, contact us for help.

To use the site owner account as your primary account:

  1. Invite the domain owner’s email address as a contributor to the site with Administrator permissions.
  2. In an incognito or private window, accept the invitation using the domain owner’s email address.
  3. Move the domain to your site.

To use the domain owner account as your primary account:

  1. Log into the account that owns the site.
  2. Invite the domain owner’s email address as a contributor with administrator permissions.
  3. In an incognito or private window, accept the invitation using the domain owner’s email address.
  4. While logged into the site owner account, change ownership of the site to the domain owner account.
  5. While logged into the domain owner account, move the domain to your site.

Remove your secondary account (optional)

After transferring ownership of all your sites and subscriptions to your primary account, you can:

  • Remove your secondary account as a contributor. This means your secondary account won't appear in the Permissions & Ownership panel, and you won’t be able to log in to that site using your secondary account’s email address. Until the secondary account is permanently deleted, you can still log in to Squarespace with the secondary account's email address.
  • Request to permanently delete your secondary account. To do this, first remove your secondary account as a contributor, then ensure that the secondary account has no active subscriptions associated with it.

Next steps

You may need to update other areas of your sites after merging accounts:

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

183 out of 401 found this helpful

Yes No

Merging Squarespace accounts