Cancel your website subscription
- Cancel your website subscription
- End your site subscription and review your access after a site is canceled.
- Watch a video
- What happens to my site when I cancel?
- Cancel your subscription
- What can I access after I cancel my site?
- What happens to my other subscriptions after I cancel my site?
- Does my site appear in search engines after I cancel my subscription?
- What’s the difference between canceling a subscription and deleting a site?
- Can I reactivate my site after I cancel my subscription?
- Can I move a website subscription to a different site?
- What happens to gift cards when I cancel my site?
false
Cancel your website subscription
Last updated October 15, 2026 20:59
End your site subscription and review your access after a site is canceled.
You can cancel your website subscription through the Billing panel. You can cancel your site immediately for a refund if you're in the refund window, or stop service at the end of your billing cycle. You can access some content on your site after canceling, and review other subscriptions to cancel.
Also try: Delete your account, Delete your site and its contents, Website refund policy, and What to do with expired subscriptions
Watch a video
What happens to my site when I cancel?
When you cancel a site, a “Website expired” message appears when you visit it from any of your domains. Your site won’t be visible, and some subscriptions pause or remain active when you cancel your site subscription. Any products or customer subscriptions on your store page will be canceled. Learn about what you can do with expired subscriptions.
Cancel your subscription
When you cancel a monthly subscription, your service stops at the end of your billing cycle.
When you cancel an annual subscription, your service also stops at the end of your billing cycle. If you're within the refund window, you can choose to end service immediately and take your site offline.
If you're on a legacy pricing plan, you can't reactivate that same plan after canceling, but you can choose from our current plans.
To cancel your website subscription:
- Open the Billing panel of the site you'd like to cancel.
- Under Subscriptions, click a subscription or plan.
- Click Cancel subscription.
- If you cancel an annual plan within the refund window, choose Retain Access to cancel your site when your billing cycle ends, or Get Refund Immediately to end service to your site immediately and get a refund. Click Continue to proceed with the cancellation. Outside the refund window, your site stays online until your billing cycle ends.
- Review the Cancellation details. Click Continue to proceed with the cancellation.
- Select your reason for canceling your subscription from the drop-down menu, then click Next.
- Complete the rest of the form to share your experience with Squarespace. If you prefer not to answer, click Next.
- If you have other active subscriptions, Your other subscriptions panel appears. Review your subscriptions, then click Continue. You can cancel them later.
- Click Cancel subscription to confirm the cancellation.
What can I access after I cancel my site?
When your site expires, you can still log into your site to manage billing, domains, and past commerce data. You can access these panels on your site:
- Contacts panel - View all of your customers, mailing list subscribers, members, and donors.
- Digital Products panel - If your plan is active, view membership sales history and member contacts.
- Email Campaigns panel - If your subscription is active, draft and send campaigns or manage your email dashboard.
- Products & Services panel - View past order history, customer data, payments, and issue refunds.
- Scheduling panel - If your Acuity subscription is active, open your panel to manage customer appointments.
You can also access these panels in your site settings:
- Billing panel - View your invoices and change your card on file.
- Domains & Email panel - Manage domain subscriptions and your Google Workspace subscription.
- Import & export content panel - Export your site's available content.
- Permissions & Ownership panel - Review and update contributor access.
What happens to my other subscriptions after I cancel my site?
When you end your website subscription, some subscriptions remain active, while others are paused until you reactivate them.
Subscriptions that remain active
These subscriptions stay active and continue to be billed after your website goes offline:
- Domains - Your domain subscription stays active. You can keep your domain registered through your account, manage its DNS settings, or transfer it to a different host. Annual plans canceled within 14 days lose their free domain offer. Learn more about what to do with your domain if you cancel your website.
- Google Workspace - Your professional email account remains active and billed through your dashboard. Learn how to cancel your Google Workspace account.
- Acuity Scheduling - Your scheduling subscription stays active, and clients can continue booking appointments through your scheduling page.
- Email Campaigns - Your Email Campaigns dashboard stays active. Your automated campaigns stop sending when the site goes offline, but you can still access the panel to export your mailing lists.
Subscriptions that pause when a site is canceled
These subscriptions pause automatically when your website subscription ends:
- Digital Products - If your site is on a Digital Products plan, your member sites and digital structures are paused for 30 days. Members won’t have access to your member areas unless you upgrade to a current plan. Learn more about canceling your Digital Products plan.
Cancel other subscriptions
All Squarespace subscriptions are independent from your site. Canceling or changing your website plan won't automatically cancel other active services. Review these guides to learn how to cancel the individual subscriptions:
- Acuity Scheduling
- Digital Products
- Email Campaigns
- Google Workspace
- Mobile start plan
- Squarespace Domains
Does my site appear in search engines after I cancel my subscription?
After your subscription ends, your site becomes private and search engines stop indexing your content. It can take several weeks for search engines to remove your inactive pages from search results. If you move your site to a new provider, search engines will index your new site content once it goes live.
What’s the difference between canceling a subscription and deleting a site?
Canceling a subscription stops automatic payments and preserves your data in case you want to reactivate later. Your site stays online until the end of your billing cycle, unless you cancel an annual subscription within the refund window and choose to get a refund immediately.
Deleting a site permanently removes content and data from our systems. This also deletes data and content linked to any sites owned by your account. You can only delete a site that's already expired or canceled.
Learn more about deleting your account.
Can I reactivate my site after I cancel my subscription?
Yes. You can log into your account dashboard and reactivate a site at any time. You can’t reactivate a legacy pricing plan, so to reactivate, upgrade to a current plan.
Can I move a website subscription to a different site?
No. Website subscriptions are tied to individual sites and can't be transferred. To move a website subscription, end your current site plan and start a new subscription on the other site.
What happens to gift cards when I cancel my site?
Active gift card balances don't expire, but you can't refund or transfer them to another site when you cancel your subscription. Before canceling your site, cancel and refund the gift cards.
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
7004 out of 19786 found this helpful
Yes No
Cancel your website subscription
