Disconnecting a third-party domain
false
Disconnecting a third-party domain
Last updated October 13, 2026 14:55
Follow these steps to disconnect a third-party domain from your Squarespace site.
If you connected a domain from a third-party provider (like HostGator, GoDaddy, or Bluehost) to your Squarespace site and want the domain to point elsewhere, use this guide to disconnect the domain.
Before you begin
- To unlink a Squarespace domain, visit Transferring a domain away from Squarespace.
- If you're not sure which site your domain is connected to, check the Domains tab in your account dashboard.
- If you have a Google Workspace account linked to your third-party domain, disconnecting your domain won't cancel Google Workspace service. To completely cancel Google Workspace, follow the cancellation steps.
- If you're disconnecting a GoDaddy domain that you connected automatically, you'll need to manually disconnect the domain after following the steps in this guide. For more help, contact their support team.
- When you delete an expired site from your account, all third-party domains connected to the site will automatically disconnect.
Step 1 - Disconnect the domain
If you're disconnecting your primary domain, first set a new primary domain. To disconnect your third-party domain, log into your Squarespace account:
- Open your domains dashboard and click the domain you want to disconnect.
- Click
to open the settings panel. - Click Domains and email in the left-side menu.
- Click Domains.
- Click the domain to disconnect.
- Scroll down and click Disconnect domain.
- In the pop-up message, click Disconnect to confirm.
Tip: If you're planning to reconnect your domain to another site, you may need to wait 24 hours to let the disconnection propagate.
Step 2 - Edit your DNS records
Skip this step if your domain host is one of the following providers:
Domains from these providers disconnect from Squarespace automatically once step 1 is complete because they use nameserver connect. Use the steps below if your domain provider isn't listed above.
Disconnecting your domain won't change its DNS records. To completely disconnect your domain from a Squarespace site:
- Log into your domain provider account.
- Remove the Squarespace DNS records.
The steps to edit DNS records are different for each provider and site host. Please contact your domain provider or visit their documentation for help.
Until your domain's DNS records are changed, your domain is pointing to Squarespace. Your visitors will find an error message instead of your site.
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
135 out of 506 found this helpful
Yes No
Disconnecting a third-party domain
