Drafting pages (Premium & Enterprise)

false

Drafting pages (Premium & Enterprise)

Last updated September 25, 2026 15:39

Partner with your team to stage edits to live site pages.

On a Premium or Enterprise plan, you can draft changes to a live site page in a page draft, then share your drafted content with your team. This enables better collaboration, and can help content managers review page edits before publishing. The changes you make in a page draft will not affect the original page’s content on your live site. Website managers or administrators can then publish the draft and replace the live page with the new content.

This feature is for Premium and Enterprise customers only, and is only available to sites on version 7.1.

Keep in mind:

  • You can’t edit site-wide settings in a draft, like the header, footer, or site styles.
  • You can’t create page drafts for collection pages.

Watch a video

Create a page draft

Website managers and administrators can create page drafts from page settings.

  1. In the Pages panel, hover over the page you want to create a draft for, then click the gear icon.
  2. In the General settings, scroll down and click Create draft.
  3. Enter a draft title in the text field and press Enter.
  4. Make your changes in the page draft editor.
  5. To close the draft to revisit later, in the top-left, click Done then select Save draft. To exit edit mode without saving your changes, select Discard changes.

When your draft is ready, you can publish and replace a live site page with your page draft.

If you’re a website editor or draft editor, to create a page draft:

  1. In the Pages panel, hover over the page you want to create a draft for, then click the create draft icon.
  2. Make your changes in the page draft editor.
  3. To save your changes, in the top-left, click Done and select Save changes, or select Discard to exit the draft without saving.

Note: Website editors and draft editors can’t publish and replace live site pages with drafts, but they can share the draft URL with other website contributors.

Share a page draft

Depending on your permissions, you can share page drafts with other members or reviewers outside your organization. Website editors and draft editors can copy the draft URL and send it directly to other website contributors. Website managers and administrators can set up draft-sharing permissions for other contributors, or reviewers outside their organization.

  1. In the Pages panel, hover over the page draft, then click the gear icon.
  2. Switch the Enable sharing toggle on.
  3. Enter a password in the Password field, then click Save.
  4. To share the URL and password with your team, open the page draft settings, then click Copy next to the Preview URL, or copy the draft URL from the browser bar. Send the URL and password to your team so they can preview the draft and make changes. If you’re a website editor or administrator, you don’t need a password to preview page drafts.

Publish and replace a page

After you finish drafting edits to the new page, publish it to replace the existing page on your site.

Note: It's not possible to revert back to the original page after publishing your changes.

  1. In the top-left corner, click Done, then select Publish and replace.
  2. Click Confirm.

Your drafted changes will now be visible on your live site.

Note: When you create a draft of a page that includes a form block, the form block storage option is disconnected from the draft. You need to reconnect the form block storage option on the new page in order to have a working form block when you publish and replace.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

31 out of 67 found this helpful

Yes No

Drafting pages (Premium & Enterprise)