Delete your site and its content
- Delete your site and its content
- Information on how to delete a site from your account, and remove media assets, pages, or site content from a live site.
- Watch a video
- Delete your site on the account dashboard
- What happens when a site and its contents are deleted?
- What happens when a trial site expires?
- Alternatives to consider before deleting a site
- Restore a deleted site
false
Delete your site and its content
Last updated October 08, 2026 15:57
Information on how to delete a site from your account, and remove media assets, pages, or site content from a live site.
You can delete your site after canceling your subscriptions or when your trial expires through your account dashboard. You can also delete content or consider alternatives before deleting everything.
Also try: Removing yourself as a contributor.
Watch a video
Delete your site on the account dashboard
To delete a site with a paid subscription, ensure you are on the correct site and cancel any active subscriptions first. If your site is on a monthly cycle, you can’t delete it until the end of the current billing cycle, even after canceling.
You can review all of the subscriptions connected to your site in your account dashboard, then click Go To Website next to the site you’d like to delete.
After cancelling your subscriptions, or if it has expired, follow these steps to delete the site:
- Open the account dashboard.
- Click ••• to the right of the correct site.
- Click Delete. This option won't appear if the site has any active subscriptions.
- To permanently delete your site, click Delete again in the panel that opens to confirm.
- You'll see a “Site Deleted” message. Visitors to this URL will also see this message.
What happens when a site and its contents are deleted?
Deleting a site permanently removes its data and content from our system. You can only delete expired or canceled sites with no other active subscriptions.
After deleting your site:
- Your site and its content and data can’t be recovered.
- We can't provide invoices for the deleted site.
- You can’t log in or republish the site.
- Your linked third-party domains are disconnected.
Note: We may keep some of your data if required by law, to settle disputes, protect our and other's rights, or to meet our financial and legal obligations.
Can I delete specific content from a site?
When you delete select content from a live site, like a page or blog post:
- Visitors can no longer find or visit the content.
- The deleted content moves to Deleted Pages, where you can find and recover it for about 30 days. To permanently remove deleted items, click Empty Trash.
- When content is deleted, visitors will see a 404 error when they visit the URL. Set up a URL redirect or use the same URL for a replacement page or post.
Before deleting content, download a file with your site pages, and export your site content into an .xml file. We also recommend copying or downloading all text and images separately.
Why was my site deleted?
We automatically delete your site if the site owner has been inactive for a while (for example, they don't have any billing or login activity).
The site can be marked for deletion if the owner requests to delete the account or if the owner or an administrator clicks Delete Site in the account dashboard.
Can I delete a site with a domain and other active subscriptions?
You can only delete a site with no active subscriptions, or no domains attached to it.
If your site has a Squarespace domain attached to it, you can’t delete until you cancel or transfer the domain.
If your site has other active subscriptions, like Google Workspace, Email Campaigns, or Acuity Scheduling, you can’t delete it until you cancel them.
What happens when a trial site expires?
When your trial expires, your site can’t be accessed anymore and will eventually be deleted for inactivity. We’ll email the site owner seven days before we delete it with options to upgrade or reactivate the trial. You can delete the site yourself at any time via your account dashboard.
Alternatives to consider before deleting a site
- Cancel your website subscription to take your site offline and stop your subscription payments.
- Hide your site to make it private to visitors.
- Set a site-wide password to limit who can access to your site
Restore a deleted site
If your site is expired, past-due, or canceled, you may be able to reactivate it. If you manually deleted the site, contact us. Depending on how much time has passed, we may be able to restore your content.
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
660 out of 1809 found this helpful
Yes No
Delete your site and its content
