Duplicating a site
false
Duplicating a site
Last updated June 11, 2026 17:05
Make a copy of a Squarespace site.
You can make a copy of a Squarespace site by duplicating it. Use this guide to learn how to duplicate a site and what content copies over from the original.
To duplicate specific content within the same site, like blocks, pages, or blog posts, visit Duplicating pages and content.
You must have owner or administrator permissions on a site to duplicate it. The contributor who duplicates the site will be the new site’s owner.
Watch a video
Before you begin
Duplicating a site is ideal when you want to create a new site with new content using the structure of an existing one. To keep your content the same but change the site's address, add a new domain and set it as your primary. This automatically forwards URLs from your previous domain to the new one.
It’s not possible to duplicate:
- Sites with more than 150 pages. For details on what content counts toward the 150 pages, visit Page limits.
- Sites using the Developer Platform.
- Parking pages.
- Sites on the discontinued Cover Page plan.
- Acuity Scheduling client scheduling pages.
Keep in mind:
- Duplicating a site creates a new trial site that will need its own billing plan. It's not possible to transfer the original site's billing plan to the duplicate site. To redesign your existing site without a new site and billing plan, visit Starting over.
- Duplicating a site doesn't change the original site.
- Changes made to the copied site don't sync to the original site.
Note: Selling settings don't carry over to the duplicate site. To enable customers to make purchases on your duplicate site, ensure you set up all your selling settings, including a payment processor connection, shipping rates, taxes, and discounts. For the complete list of site settings that don't duplicate, click here.
Duplicate a site
To duplicate a site:
- Go to your Account Dashboard.
- Click … on the site you want to duplicate.
- Click Duplicate Website.
- The duplicate site appears as the first site in your account dashboard. Its site title will end in “(Copy).” It may take longer to generate the duplicate depending on how much content is on the original site.
You can upgrade the trial to paid service when you're ready.
What copies to the new site
Duplicating a site copies the site's content, structure, and design settings. Elements that don’t copy over must be set up per-site, like contributor permissions, or only work for one site at a time, like domain subscriptions.
What duplicates
These content and style settings are copied from one site to another:
- Pages, sections, layouts, and blocks
- Member Sites
- Code injection in advanced settings
- Collection items
- Site title and logo
- Site languages and regional settings
- Style settings
- Template
- Text content
Duplicated collection items have additional characters added to their URL slugs, similar to when you duplicate an individual item on a site. Update the URL slugs manually if you want them to match the original site.
Basic authors in the Permissions & Ownership panel carry over to the duplicated site, but won't be added as author of any collection items, even if they were on the original site. On the duplicated site, add basic authors to blog posts and other collection items manually.
What doesn’t duplicate
Site-specific settings and other content not mentioned above doesn't duplicate. This includes:
- Add-on features and subscriptions, like domains and Email Campaigns
- Audio files uploaded to audio blocks
- Blog comments
- Demo content or content marked for deletion, like pages and blog posts in trash cans
- Files uploaded through the link editor
- Free or premium licensed stock images
- Images and videos in the Asset library that aren't used on the pages of the site
- Saved sections
- Selling settings, including orders, discounts, and subscriptions
- Third-party integrations that require authenticated access, like connected accounts and API keys
- Website-specific settings and panels, like analytics, billing plans, contacts, and contributor permissions
Contact us for more help
If you run into issues duplicating a site or see a “Couldn’t Duplicate Site” error message, contact us.
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
547 out of 923 found this helpful
Yes No
Duplicating a site
