How members access their customer accounts
- How members access their customer accounts
- Members use their account to view content behind paywalls, review orders, and manage their personal information.
- How members create accounts
- How members log in
- What appears for members when they log in
- How members review their memberships
- How members change their email addresses
- How members cancel their memberships
- How members log out
false
How members access their customer accounts
Last updated March 30, 2026 20:01
Members use their account to view content behind paywalls, review orders, and manage their personal information.
When a visitor to your site signs up for one of your pricing plans, they become a member of your site. During the sign-up process, they create a customer account and pay for membership (if applicable). From there, they can log into their account to access digital product content, manage their information, and view orders.
This guide covers how members create and manage their customer accounts.
How members create accounts
Visitors sign up for one of your pricing plans using a pricing plan block or a paywall sign up button. Part of the sign up process involves creating a new customer account or signing into an existing one. If they make a new account, members enter their name, email, and create a password.
To learn more about the member’s experience signing up, visit How customers find and sign up for gated content.
How members log in
To sign into their customer accounts and access gated content, your members use a login link in your main navigation. Depending on your site's version, this link sometimes appears automatically.

Members can also log into their accounts from any paywall.

Tip: While visitors can create customer accounts on your site by clicking Create account on the login screen, they can only become members by signing up for a pricing plan.
What appears for members when they log in
After a member logs into their account, the Customer Account panel opens on the right side of the screen. They can click Digital Products to review and access all of the gated content in their purchased pricing plans. Additionally, they can click Profile to review their account details.

If you have a member site, members can also navigate your gated pages. What appears in this panel depends on how you've customized your member site’s member navigation:
- Show in the Customer Account Panel - Links to the member site pages appear in the panel.
- Replace main navigation (version 7.1 only) - Only customer account details appear in the panel, while member site navigation appears in place of the site’s main navigation
- Don't show navigation - Only customer account details appear in the panel, no member site navigation appears
Members can close the Customer Account panel by clicking anywhere on your site outside of the panel.
How members review their memberships
Members can view and manage their memberships from their customer account. After logging in, they:
- Click Account to review their account settings, all of their purchases from your site, and their profile.
- Click Digital Products to review their membership start date, pricing plan details, and click a link to the course overview page, blog page, videos page, or member site homepage.
If they purchased a pricing plan with a recurring subscription, or fixed amount with remaining installments, the following details also appear:
- Renewal date - The date of their next recurring subscription or installment payment
- Frequency - How often they pay recurring subscription or installment payments to maintain access to the digital product
- Price - The cost of the pricing plan
- Payment method - Members can click this link to manage their saved billing information
How members change their email addresses
Members can change their email address when logged into their account. Member accounts work the same as customer accounts and follow the same rules. To learn more about changing a member's email address, visit How customers use customer accounts.
How members cancel their memberships
When a member cancels their membership, you’ll receive an email notification. The member won’t receive a refund for payments already made. If the pricing plan has remaining subscription payments (either recurring or installments), all upcoming payments will be automatically canceled.
If a member asks how to cancel their membership, tell them:
- Log in to your customer account.
- Click Account, then click Digital products or Subscriptions.
- Click the digital product you want to cancel.
- If you have remaining payments, click Go manage subscription. Otherwise, move to the next step.
- Click Cancel subscription, then click Cancel subscription again to confirm.
When a member cancels their membership, they'll keep access to gated content for the remainder of the billing cycle. At the end of the billing cycle, their account fully expires. They'll still have access to their customer account, but links to digital product content won't display.
Members on fixed-amount and free pricing plans can't cancel their subscriptions. On a fixed-amount plan, either paid in full or in installments, members retain access to the content indefinitely.
You can cancel a membership if your member asks for help or if you want a member to lose access to gated content immediately.
How members log out
To log out of their customer accounts, members click Account, then Sign out. After logging out, they'll be redirected to your site's homepage.
Depending on their browser, members may be automatically logged out of their customer accounts after they've been inactive for a certain length of time.
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
96 out of 281 found this helpful
Yes No
How members access their customer accounts
