What to do with expired subscriptions

false

What to do with expired subscriptions

Last updated July 17, 2026 19:45

What happens when your Squarespace subscriptions expire, and the actions you can take.

All Squarespace subscriptions are managed separately and have their own renewal options. Depending on the subscription, there’s a renewal period to make changes before losing access. Review your subscriptions in the Billing panel or the Domains dashboard.

What happens to my expired site?

If your paid site expires, a “Website Expired” message appears when you visit it from any of your domains. You can reactivate it, or cancel your subscription to end your site’s service.

When your trial site expires, it’s no longer public, and we mark the content for permanent deletion. You can extend it using the link in your extension email, upgrade to a paid plan, or delete the trial on the account dashboard.

What happens to my expired domain?

If your domain expires, you’ll have some time to reactivate it without a redemption fee, depending on your domain provider. If you reactivate it after the grace period, you’re charged a redemption fee on top of the reactivation cost. You can reactivate your domain by updating your renewal payment information on the Domains dashboard. Learn more about reactivating an expired domain.

If you don’t need the domain anymore, you can cancel it through the Domains dashboard. You can also turn off the Auto-renew toggle, depending on your domain type. Learn more about canceling a Squarespace domain.

What if my Email Campaigns subscription expired?

If your Email Campaigns subscription has expired, you’ll lose access to your campaigns and Email Campaign features.

You can resubscribe at any time, or cancel it. Learn more about Email Campaigns pricing, billing, and invoices.

What happens to my expired Digital Products plan?

Note: Digital Products plans are only available for Legacy website plans. Current site plans include Digital Products.

If your Digital Products plan expires, we’ll try to charge the payment method on file over the next 15 days. If it fails, your digital products pause for 30 days. During this time, new customers can’t sign up, and existing members can’t access gated content. If you don’t reinstate your plan in 30 days, all memberships are cancelled permanently. You can update your renewal payment information or resubscribe to your original Digital products plan. You can also upgrade to a current plan that includes Digital Products.

Learn more about canceling your Digital Products plan.

What happens to my expired Acuity Scheduling subscription?

If we can’t charge your card after 15 days of your renewal payment, your Acuity subscription will expire. Your clients won't be able to book appointments with you until you reactivate the service.

To continue using the feature, update your payment information during the renewal window. This process depends if your account is connected to Squarespace or Acuity. If you’d like to end your subscription, you can cancel it.

What happens to my expired Google Workspace plan?

If your Google Workspace plan expires, we’ll try to charge the payment method on file over the next 15 days. If we can’t authorize the card after 15 days, your Google Workspace account will be suspended, and you'll lose access to your email inboxes and other Google Workspace features. You’ll have 40 days to reactivate your Google Workspace subscription before it’s completely canceled in Squarespace and transferred to Google.

To update the payment method and reactivate your plan, go to the domains dashboard, then click Email. If you’d like to cancel instead, review our guide on canceling your Google Workspace subscription, or contact us to discuss your options.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Yes No

What to do with expired subscriptions