Canceling your Google Workspace subscription

false

Canceling your Google Workspace subscription

Last updated September 17, 2026 17:23

Switch to managing your service with Google, or completely cancel it.

If you cancel your Google Workspace (previously G Suite) service with Squarespace, we’ll transfer your Google Workspace account to Google. At that point, you can continue service with Google or completely cancel your account through your Google Workspace Admin Console. We’ll no longer bill you for Google Workspace.

Note: Please don’t cancel if you’re having trouble with setup. We strongly recommend contacting us first. Go to the next section for important details.

Tip: To remove a single email address (user) without deleting your subscription, visit Deleting a Google Workspace user.

Contact us first. We’re here to help.

If you’re having trouble with setup, please don’t cancel. Canceling won’t allow you to start over to solve the problem, and you won't be able to reinstate Google Workspace service on your domain through Squarespace. Instead, your account will transfer to Google and can't be transferred back to us.

We can resolve any issues with Google Workspace and ensure you’re set up for success with email. Contact us, or review common Google Workspace issues and how to resolve them.

Transfer your account to Google

In some cases, you may want to manage billing for your Google Workspace account with Google directly rather than managing the billing through your Squarespace site. In Squarespace, canceling your Google Workspace subscription and transferring to Google are the same process. Canceling your Google Workspace with Squarespace automatically transfers it to Google, where you can reestablish billing to continue using Google Workspace.

Google may also refer to this process as ending the reseller relationship. Because we're a reseller of Google Workspace, canceling in Squarespace and transferring to Google effectively ends our connection to the Google Workspace subscription.

Note: You can't transfer your Google Workspace account directly from Squarespace to another Google Workspace reseller. After you cancel your Google Workspace subscription with us, we'll transfer your account to Google, then you can transfer the account to an approved reseller. Learn more in Google's Help Center.

Billing details after you cancel

After you cancel, it's not possible to:

  • Redeem the free year offer on another domain
  • Reinstate Google Workspace service for this domain through Squarespace, unless you follow these steps to free up your domain.

After you cancel your monthly Google Workspace subscription:

  • You won't receive a refund; for more details, visit Refund policies
  • You’ll forfeit the free year offer included with an upgrade to a Business or Commerce plan
  • Your Google Workspace subscription enters a 7-day grace period with Google. To keep the subscription active, log into your Admin Console at this link: <http://admin.google.com/yourdomain.tld> (replace “yourdomain.tld” with your Google Workspace domain). Then, add your billing information in Google.

What happens to your annual Google Workspace subscription after you cancel it depends on when it was started.

If you signed up for, reactivated, or renewed an annual plan before December 1, 2022:

  • You'll only receive a refund if you cancel during the 15-day renewal window, but not after an initial signup payment. If you receive a refund, you'll get a 7-day grace period to set up billing directly with Google.
  • Your Google Workspace account enters a 7-day grace period, during which you can set up your billing information with Google.

If you signed up for, reactivated, or renewed an annual plan on or after December 1, 2022:

  • You’ll forfeit the free year offer included with an upgrade to a Business, Commerce Basic, or Commerce Advanced plan.
  • You'll only receive a full refund if you cancel during the 15-day renewal window. Prorated refunds will be automatic. If you receive a refund, you'll get a 7-day grace period to set up billing directly with Google.

If you cancel a past-due subscription, you receive a grace period with Google. If you cancel a suspended subscription, you don't.

For more information about moving your Google Workspace from Squarespace to Google, visit Google's documentation.

Cancel your subscription

After reading the information above, choose from the two options for canceling your Google Workspace service with Squarespace and transferring your account to Google:

  • Option 1 - Cancel your Google Workspace subscription with Squarespace immediately.
  • Option 2 - Disable auto-renew to let your subscription expire at the end of the billing cycle.

Option 1 - Cancel your account with Squarespace

If your active or suspended Google Workspace subscription is attached to a cover page, Website, or Commerce store:

  1. Open the Billing panel.
  2. Under Subscriptions, click Google Workspace.
  3. Click Cancel Subscription.
  4. In the next panel, click Cancel Google Workspace subscription.
  5. Confirm the cancellation.

If your active or suspended Google Workspace subscription is attached to a parking page:

  1. Go to the domains dashboard and click the domain with Google Workspace attached.
  2. Click the Email tab,and click Manage Plan.
  3. Click the domain with the active subscription.
  4. Under Billing, click View, and click the domain with the active subscription.
  5. Click Cancel Google Workspace.
  6. In the next panel, click Cancel.
  7. Confirm the cancellation.

If you experience issues canceling your Google Workspace account, contact us.

Option 2 - Disable auto-renew

To disable auto-renew:

  1. Open the Billing panel.
  2. Under Subscriptions, click Google Workspace.
  3. Switch the Renew automatically toggle off.

When your billing cycle ends, your Google Workspace email will be suspended. After 40 days, it will be disconnected from your site and transferred to Google.

If you disable auto-renew for an annual Google Workspace plan during the 15-day renewal window, your subscription still renews and then expires at the end of the next billing period.

Next steps

Note: After canceling your subscription in Squarespace, we can no longer help with Google Workspace. Consult Google's documentation for any of the following actions.

To take next steps, go to your Google Workspace Admin Console and log in using your Google Workspace email address and password.

Depending on what you want to do, you can:

  • Set up billing with Google to ensure uninterrupted service
  • Upgrade to another Google Workspace plan
  • Completely cancel your account

FAQ

Will canceling my Squarespace site cancel my Google Workspace subscription?

No. Billing for Google Workspace is handled separately. If you cancel your site, we’ll continue to renew your Google Workspace subscription using the credit card on file.

Will canceling my Google Workspace in Squarespace delete emails, contacts, or other content from my inbox?

No. Canceling your Google Workspace in Squarespace transfers the billing aspects of the account to Google, but it doesn’t affect the content in your inbox. All emails, contacts, and other content remains intact after canceling Google Workspace in Squarespace.

I see a “Failed to Cancel Google Workspace” message.

You'll see this message in your Billing panel if you don't have any Administrators in your Google Workspace account. To resolve this, set one or more of your Google Workspace users as an Administrator.

  1. Open the domains dashboard, then click the domain linked to the Google Workspace account you'd like to manage.
  2. Click Email.
  3. Click Manage plan.
  4. Click a user.
  5. Check the Administrator option to give this user full administrative access on the Google Workspace account.
  6. Click Save.

You should now be able to cancel your Google Workspace subscription from the Billing panel.

Note that Google Workspace user levels are separate from Squarespace permission levels. A Squarespace user with Owner or Administrator permissions won't automatically have Google Workspace Administrator access.

How do I cancel an existing Google Workspace account so I can sign up in Squarespace?

During signup, you may receive the Failed to register for Google Workspace - A Google Workspace account already exists on this domain error message. Learn how to fix this issue.

You won’t be able to cancel the existing account following the steps here, as the existing Google Workspace account may be hosted with Google Workspace directly or another reseller.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

1313 out of 3526 found this helpful

Yes No

Canceling your Google Workspace subscription