Connecting a Squarespace domain to a Squarespace site

false

Connecting a Squarespace domain to a Squarespace site

Last updated June 25, 2026 19:04

When you connect a Squarespace domain to a Squarespace site, the billing and permission settings of the domain remain separate from your website.

To link a domain to a website and have the domain share the same billing and permission levels as the website, move the domain instead. To learn more about the differences between moving and connecting a domain, visit Choosing the right option for moving your domain.

Note: Most domains connect to a site immediately, but it can sometimes take 24 to 48 hours. Keep this timing in mind if you have a deadline.

Eligibility

Tip: To take advantage of the free domain or free Google Workspace offers, move the domain instead.

Connect a Squarespace domain

Note: Before connecting your Squarespace domain to your Squarespace site, ensure you delete any A or CNAME records that point your domain to another site. If you don’t remove these records, they’ll conflict with Squarespace’s records and your domain connection will fail.

To connect your domain to your site:

  1. Open your domains dashboard.
  2. Click your domain.
  3. Click Website.
  4. Click Connect existing website.
  5. Select the new site you'd like to connect the domain to.
  6. Click Next, then click Confirm.

Connect a Squarespace subdomain to a Squarespace site

When you connect a subdomain to a Squarespace site, Squarespace handles it like a third-party domain. This means you’ll use DNS records to connect it to the site. To learn more about connecting a Squarespace-hosted subdomain to your site, visit Pointing a Squarespace domain.

Edit your domain's connection

To change the site your domain is connected to:

  1. Open your domains dashboard.
  2. Click your domain.
  3. Click Website.
  4. Click Change connection.
  5. Select the new site you'd like to connect the domain to.
  6. Click Next, then click Confirm to confirm the new connection.

Note: If you complete the above steps for a domain that shares billing information with a website, the domain will move to the new site. After you move the domain, the domain will share its billing and permission settings with the site it moved to.

Remove your domain's connection

If the billing and permission settings of your domain are separate from the website it’s connected to, you can disconnect the domain and park it. Keep in mind, the Park this domain option isn't available for domains that share billing information with a website.

To disconnect your domain from the site it's connected to:

  1. Open your domains dashboard.
  2. Click your domain.
  3. Click Website.
  4. Click Change connection.
  5. Click Park this domain.
  6. Click Next, then click Confirm.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

215 out of 812 found this helpful

Yes No

Connecting a Squarespace domain to a Squarespace site