Manually move your content from a version 7.0 site to a version 7.1 site
- Manually move your content from a version 7.0 site to a version 7.1 site
false
Manually move your content from a version 7.0 site to a version 7.1 site
Last updated October 15, 2026 18:13
How to create a new version 7.1 site and move your site content.
To use version 7.1, you can update your site using the version update tool, or follow the steps in this guide to start from scratch and move all of your version 7.0 site content to a new version 7.1 site.
Review the differences between versions
Not all version 7.0 features are available in version 7.1. Review the differences before you move your site content.
Use the update tool to automatically move your site to version 7.1
Instead of moving your content manually between sites, use the version update tool to switch versions.
Prepare your content
Gather content from your existing site so you're prepared to add it to your new site. There's no one right way to do this, and it can vary depending on what you're moving, but organize the content in a way that's convenient and makes sense to you.
Copy text content
If your site has large amounts of text content, copy and paste it all into a single document or file so you can readily access it when you start building your new site.
Save images
If you don't have the images you've uploaded to your site saved on your device, download them. Organizing them into folders is a great way to simplify the process when you start uploading.
Export products
If you're using Squarespace Commerce, you can export your products to a .csv and directly import them to your new site. You can’t import other content, like pages, blog posts, or blocks.
Remember your style settings
In site styles, take note of any particular style settings you want to preserve, like specific colors or fonts, as guidelines for your new site.
Keep your current site active
We recommend leaving your version 7.0 site active until your new site is complete. This ensures you'll have access to your assets and visitors can still access your content while your new site is under construction.
Set up your new site
After you've prepared your content, start creating your new version 7.1 site. You can import products as a .csv file from your version 7.0 site, but other content you'll need to recreate manually. There may be slight differences, but you can replicate most version 7.0 designs in version 7.1.
Start a version 7.1 trial
Select a template to start a 14-day free trial. All version 7.1 templates have the same features and design options, so look for a template you like or one that's similar to your old site. While working on your new site, we suggest keeping it private. If you need more time at the end of two weeks, you can extend your trial.
Rebuild content
Click Edit in the top-left corner of the page preview to paste text content, upload images, and recreate blocks from your original site. Block sections use Fluid Engine, our latest page editing experience with more versatile design possibilities, but most page, block, and content options are the same, or have an alternative option.
Import products
Add products to your store by importing products from your version 7.0 site. When you import, you don't have to manually recreate products. Keep in mind, if your version 7.0 site uses our classic product editor, version 7.1 store pages add a /p/ to the product URL between the store page slug and the product slug. Set up URL redirects so that customers with old URLs can find the new ones.
Try new features
Explore new possibilities with features only available in version 7.1, like page sections, auto layouts, and portfolio pages.
Style your site
Use site styles to set the font packs, color themes, and other style settings for your site. You can match fonts and colors to your previous site, or use the expanded options in version 7.1 to try new styles. Note that custom Adobe Fonts aren't supported in version 7.1.
Set up SEO
Squarespace is well-regarded for our built-in, search-optimized design, but moving from one site to another can affect your site’s search ranking, no matter what platform you choose. To ensure your new site is optimized before going live, follow our SEO checklist and our tips on maintaining SEO.
Manage subscriptions
After your new site is ready to go live, you can upgrade to paid service and cancel your old site. If you have other subscriptions, like a custom domain or Email Campaigns, you'll need to take a few more steps to enable them on your new site.
Upgrade to paid service
If you're ready to publish your site, subscribe to one of our current website billing plans and publish your site. New sites need to use one of our current billing plans. If your version 7.0 site is on one of our legacy billing plans, your billing options for version 7.1 may vary.
Move your domain
You can move custom domains from your old site to your new site. The process depends on if you're using a Squarespace domain or a third-party domain. If you have a Google Workspace account associated with the domain, you can move it too.
Cancel your version 7.0 site
When your version 7.1 site is upgraded to paid service, you can cancel your version 7.0 site to avoid paying for multiple sites at the same time. If you had remaining time in an annual subscription, contact us to find out if you’re eligible for a prorated refund for switching sites.
Check for other subscriptions
Check for any other active subscriptions on your current site. These can't be moved from one site to another. Follow these tips to cancel these subscriptions on your old site and then subscribe again on your new site.
- Email Campaigns - Cancel your Email Campaigns subscription on your old site and sign up on your new site. To move mailing lists, export them from your old site and import them to your new site.
- Digital Products - Before moving, consider these tips for migrating members. Then, sign up for Digital Products on your new site and cancel the Digital Products subscription on your old site.
- Acuity Scheduling - What you should do with your Acuity subscription depends on how you're using it:
- You can cancel your version 7.0 site subscription and leave the Acuity subscription active. This is a good option if you've got a complex setup that could be time consuming to build again. When you create your 7.1 site, add a scheduling block and connect it to your existing Acuity subscription.
- You can cancel your Acuity subscription on your old site and sign up on your new site. This is a good option if you have a basic setup that could be quickly recreated or you need to use site-specific integrations like sending marketing emails to Acuity clients via Email Campaigns. To move clients and appointments, export them from your old site and import them to your new site.
- Stock images - To move stock images to your new site, you'll need to download them from your old site or from the image service directly. If they're premium images, your old site must no longer be published before you add them to a new site and publish that new site. You may only use premium images in connection with one Squarespace site at a time. Visit Searching and adding stock images for more licensing details.
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Yes No
Manually move your content from a version 7.0 site to a version 7.1 site
