My site is past due

false

My site is past due

Last updated June 26, 2025 15:49

Steps to take if your website renewal payment fails.

If we can’t charge the payment method on file for your website subscription renewal, your site enters a “past due” status and the following happens:

  • We’ll notify you via email, and display a banner message across your site only visible to you when you’re logged in.
  • Your site will remain visible to visitors and search engines for 15 days while we try the charge again.
  • If the charge still fails 15 days after the renewal due date, your site will be marked as expired, and will no longer be visible to visitors and search engines.
  • You can reactivate your site and make a successful payment to resume service.

If your site is past-due, follow this guide to learn about your options.

Note: If your domain subscription is past-due, or has expired, visit Reactivating an expired Squarespace domain.

Update your billing information

To keep your site active, update your payment method as soon as possible. After you update your payment method, we'll automatically process any outstanding payments. If your payments are successful, you'll get a purchase receipt, and the “past due” banner will disappear shortly thereafter.

If you're unsure why your payment failed, visit Why did my renewal payment fail?

Resubmit payment

After fixing any card or insufficient fund issues with your bank, follow these steps to try making the payment again:

  1. Open the Billing panel.
  2. Under Subscriptions, click Retry payment.
  3. If the payment is successful, you’ll get a purchase receipt.

You can also resubmit the payment by clicking Fix now in the banner at the bottom of your site when you're logged in. After updating your billing information, click Save.

Tip: If your payment went through successfully but your site is still down, this can be due to your domain or your browser's cache.

Cancel your subscription

You can't disable auto-renew for past-due website subscriptions. If you no longer want your site, you can cancel your subscription.

After canceling an individual website subscription, you can continue managing some of your other subscriptions—like Squarespace Domains, Email Campaigns, Acuity Scheduling, or Google Workspace—from the canceled site. If your Email Campaigns or Acuity Scheduling subscriptions expire, you’ll need a website subscription to reactivate them.

After your site subscription is canceled or expires, your Digital Products are paused for 30 days. You can learn more about canceling your Digital Products plan.

FAQ

Can I have an extension?

No. We don't offer extensions on outstanding payments. However, we have a 15-day automatic grace period. Your site will expire 15 days after payment is due. You can reactivate the expired site after you make a payment.

Can I put my subscription on hold?

No. It's not possible to place your subscription on hold, but you can explore some similar options.

Can I change my billing plan?

No. It's not possible to change your billing plan or cycle while your site is past-due. You need to update your payment method before you can change your plan. After you update your payment method, we'll automatically process any outstanding payments.

Note: We recommend using a card to fix past-due website subscriptions. Updating your payment method to SEPA may result in your subscription expiring before the payment settles.

Was this article helpful?

Yes No

243 out of 1168 found this helpful

Yes No

My site is past due