Preview pages on your site
false
Preview pages on your site
Last updated April 13, 2026 18:55
Review how your site's content appears in various devices and browser windows.
As you edit your site, you can preview the full page without logging out to get a sense of what your visitors might experience. You can also check how your site appears on mobile devices with the Squarespace app.
Video on previewing pages
This video walks through previewing how your site may appear to visitors on both computers and mobile devices.
Preview pages on your site full-screen
How you preview pages depends on your site's version.
When you preview a page in version 7.1, any animations on the page will play. You can preview these animations while editing, but to hide the editing toolbar and interact with your content the way visitors would, we recommend closing the editor first.
To preview a page while editing your version 7.1 site:
- Click Save to save your changes, then click Exit to close the editor.
- Click the preview icon in the top-right corner.
- To exit the preview, click X in the top-right corner.
To preview a page on your version 7.0 site:
- If you're editing the page or in the site styles panel, save your changes and return to the main menu. It's not possible to preview the page with the editor open.
- Hover over the top-left corner of the site preview.
- Click the arrow.
- To exit the preview, click the arrow again.
Preview pages with device view
Preview how your site appears on different devices with device view.
Preview pages with incognito mode
To view your site exactly as your visitors do, visit your site in incognito mode. This can help if your site has embedded code, which may not display when you're logged in.
Preview pages by zooming out (advanced)
To check what your site looks like on wider screens, zoom out by pressing Ctrl (or ⌘ on a Mac) with the - key. Zoom back in with the + key.
If this doesn't work, do a web search for zoom and your browser's name and version.
Note: You can only edit in Squarespace at 100% zoom. To avoid display and editing issues, always set your browser back to 100%/Actual Size.
Preview changes before making them live
To create and preview new content without visitors finding it right away:
- Disable a page to hide it from visitors and search engines
- Hide any page with a password
- Password-protect your whole site
- Drag a page to the Not linked section to hide it from navigation menus
Was this article helpful?
Yes No
103 out of 321 found this helpful
Yes No
Preview pages on your site
